Ranking 54 Audi Generations by Reliability

Nearly every model can be grouped into generations, which is a collection of years where the cars are continuously produced and very few, if any, changes are made. Sorting models by their generation gives us a clearer roadmap of potential problems.

Manufacturers don't always make it clear when a new generation begins, but we do our best to keep our generation data accurate to better predict problems. Use this information as a guide for making your decisions. Or don't (but you really should).

Rank Model Years Reliability PainRank (?)
54th A4 Gen 3 2005—2007
8.73
53rd A4 Gen 2 2001—2004
7.7
52nd A4 Gen 4 2008—2015
5.19
51st Q5 Gen 1 2009—2017
3.98
50th A3 Gen 3 2013—2019
3.41
49th A6 Gen 4 2012—2018
2.47
48th A6 Gen 2 1998—2004
1.94
47th S4 Gen 5 2009—2016
1.89
46th Q7 Gen 1 2006—2016
1.79
45th A4 Gen 1 1996—2000
1.79
44th allroad Gen 2 2001—2004
1.66
43rd TT Gen 1 2000—2006
1.61
42nd S4 Gen 3 2003—2005
1.48
41st A6 Gen 3 2005—2011
1.4
40th Q7 Gen 2 2017—2019
1.36
39th A7 Gen 1 2012—2017
1.12
38th Q3 Gen 1 2015—2019
1.1
37th A4 Gen 5 2016—2019
1.06
36th TT Gen 2 2007—2014
0.85
35th A5 Gen 1 2008—2017
0.8
34th A3 Gen 2 2006—2012
0.79
33rd A8 Gen 3 2011—2018
0.74
32nd S4 Gen 4 2006—2008
0.35
31st S5 Gen 1 2008—2017
0.35
30th Q5 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.24
29th S3 Gen 3 2015—2019
0.21
28th TT Gen 3 2015—2019
0.18
27th S6 Gen 4 2011—2018
0.1
26th S8 Gen 3 2010—2016
0.09
25th A6 Gen 1 1995—1997
0.09
24th R8 Gen 1 2008—2015
0.06
23rd A8 Gen 1 1997—2002
0.03
22nd A8 Gen 2 2003—2010
0.02
21st Q8 Gen 1 2019—2019
0.0
20th S7 Gen 2 2018—2018
0.0
19th SQ5 Gen 2 2017—2019
0.0
18th SQ5 Gen 1 2014—2016
0.0
17th S7 Gen 1 2013—2017
0.0
16th S4 Gen 2 2000—2002
0.0
15th A8 Gen 4 2019—2019
0.0
14th A5 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.0
13th allroad Gen 4 2013—2016
0.0
12th allroad Gen 3 2005—2005
0.0
11th S8 Gen 2 2003—2009
0.0
10th S6 Gen 2 2002—2004
0.0
9th S4 Gen 1 1992—1994
0.0
8th S5 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.0
7th A6 Gen 5 2019—2019
0.0
6th S8 Gen 1 2001—2002
0.0
5th A4 allroad Gen 5 2017—2019
0.0
4th A7 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.0
3rd R8 Gen 2 2016—2019
0.0
2nd TTS Gen 2 2009—2016
0.0
1st S6 Gen 3 2005—2010
0.0

Answers to the most frequently asked questions

What Are Vehicle Generations?

Generations are groups of model years where the vehicles are continuously produced, use similar engineering, and share features. Generational data is not always cut-and-dry – manufacturers might not always release generation information, some generations might last longer in different countries, and various trim levels and model variants can make the whole thing confusing. We do our best but make no guarantees about our generation data. When in doubt, we stick with data about US models.

Why Are Some Vehicles Missing a 1st / 2nd / 3rd Generation?

You might notice that some of our data starts at generation 5, 6, etc. So what happened to the older generations? One of two things. 1. some models have been around a long time and we don’t have any complaint or NHTSA data about them. 2. some new models share the same platform as existing models, so we typically tie them together. For instance, a new hybrid vehicle might be introduced during the 5th generation of its non-hybrid counterpart. We’ll typically start the hybrid’s generation at 5, unless it’s otherwise noted.

What is PainRank™? Where Does it Come From?

PainRank™ is a CarComplaints.com algorithm that uses complaint data from owners (the average mileage of failures, the cost to make repairs, etc), relative complaints analysis, sales numbers, NHTSA data, & owners’ own vehicle rankings to come up with a number representing how much pain a car inflicts on its owners. The higher the PainRank™ score, the more painful a car is to own (typically).