Ranking 59 Audi Generations by Reliability

Nearly every model can be grouped into generations, which is a collection of years where the cars are continuously produced and very few, if any, changes are made. Sorting models by their generation gives us a clearer roadmap of potential problems.

Manufacturers don't always make it clear when a new generation begins, but we do our best to keep our generation data accurate to better predict problems. Use this information as a guide for making your decisions. Or don't (but you really should).

Rank Model Years Reliability PainRank (?)
59th A4 Gen 3 2005—2007
8.73
58th A4 Gen 2 2001—2004
7.7
57th A4 Gen 4 2008—2015
5.08
56th Q5 Gen 1 2009—2017
4.11
55th A3 Gen 3 2013—2019
3.41
54th A6 Gen 4 2012—2018
2.47
53rd Q7 Gen 2 2017—2019
2.02
52nd Q7 Gen 1 2006—2016
1.96
51st A6 Gen 2 1998—2004
1.94
50th A4 Gen 1 1996—2000
1.79
49th S4 Gen 5 2009—2017
1.73
48th A6 Gen 3 2005—2011
1.68
47th allroad Gen 2 2001—2004
1.66
46th TT Gen 1 2000—2006
1.61
45th S4 Gen 3 2003—2005
1.48
44th A4 Gen 5 2016—2019
1.16
43rd A7 Gen 1 2012—2017
1.14
42nd Q3 Gen 1 2015—2019
1.1
41st A6 Gen 5 2019—2019
1.08
40th TT Gen 2 2007—2014
0.85
39th A5 Gen 1 2008—2017
0.83
38th A3 Gen 2 2006—2012
0.79
37th A8 Gen 3 2011—2018
0.74
36th Q8 Gen 1 2019—2019
0.68
35th Q5 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.59
34th S4 Gen 4 2006—2008
0.35
33rd S5 Gen 1 2008—2017
0.35
32nd allroad Gen 4 2013—2016
0.23
31st S3 Gen 3 2015—2019
0.21
30th TT Gen 3 2015—2019
0.18
29th S6 Gen 4 2011—2018
0.1
28th A6 Gen 1 1995—1997
0.09
27th S8 Gen 3 2010—2018
0.07
26th R8 Gen 1 2008—2015
0.06
25th A8 Gen 1 1997—2002
0.03
24th A8 Gen 2 2003—2010
0.02
23rd e-tron Gen 1 2019—2019
0.0
22nd A8 Gen 4 2019—2019
0.0
21st A5 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.0
20th SQ5 Gen 1 2014—2016
0.0
19th S7 Gen 1 2013—2017
0.0
18th S4 Gen 2 2000—2002
0.0
17th RS 3 Gen 1 2017—2019
0.0
16th S5 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.0
15th allroad Gen 3 2005—2005
0.0
14th S8 Gen 2 2003—2009
0.0
13th S6 Gen 2 2002—2004
0.0
12th S4 Gen 1 1992—1994
0.0
11th S4 Gen 6 2018—2019
0.0
10th A4 allroad Gen 5 2017—2019
0.0
9th A7 Gen 2 2018—2019
0.0
8th R8 Gen 2 2016—2019
0.0
7th TTS Gen 3 2015—2019
0.0
6th S8 Gen 1 2001—2002
0.0
5th S8 Gen 4 2019—2019
0.0
4th S7 Gen 2 2018—2018
0.0
3rd SQ5 Gen 2 2017—2019
0.0
2nd TTS Gen 2 2009—2014
0.0
1st S6 Gen 3 2005—2010
0.0

Answers to the most frequently asked questions

What Are Vehicle Generations?

Generations are groups of model years where the vehicles are continuously produced, use similar engineering, and share features. Generational data is not always cut-and-dry – manufacturers might not always release generation information, some generations might last longer in different countries, and various trim levels and model variants can make the whole thing confusing. We do our best but make no guarantees about our generation data. When in doubt, we stick with data about US models.

Why Are Some Vehicles Missing a 1st / 2nd / 3rd Generation?

You might notice that some of our data starts at generation 5, 6, etc. So what happened to the older generations? One of two things. 1. some models have been around a long time and we don’t have any complaint or NHTSA data about them. 2. some new models share the same platform as existing models, so we typically tie them together. For instance, a new hybrid vehicle might be introduced during the 5th generation of its non-hybrid counterpart. We’ll typically start the hybrid’s generation at 5, unless it’s otherwise noted.

What is PainRank™? Where Does it Come From?

PainRank™ is a CarComplaints.com algorithm that uses complaint data from owners (the average mileage of failures, the cost to make repairs, etc), relative complaints analysis, sales numbers, NHTSA data, & owners’ own vehicle rankings to come up with a number representing how much pain a car inflicts on its owners. The higher the PainRank™ score, the more painful a car is to own (typically).